Wire ‎– Wire


Out of stock

SKU: 5024545712216 Category:


Vinyl LP pressing. 2015 release, the 13th album by the veteran post-punk band. The self-titled album comprises material that was written with the album in mind, but toured extensively first, as well as songs that Colin Newman introduced to the group in the studio just prior to recording. The idea was to get the most spontaneous reaction possible from the musicians, and far from the rough and ready results one might expect from such a tack, Wire is full of swooning pop melodies with a '60s tinge and an irresistible, near motorik rhythmic momentum. One can recognize certain melodic inflections, guitar and bass motifs, and drum rhythms from Wire's idiosyncratic vocabulary but it has a remarkable freshness. The basic tracks were recorded at Rockfield Studios with overdubs added at Brighton Electric. The 11 tracks selected for release were the ones that came together most naturally.


A1 Blogging 3:46

A2 Shifting 3:17

A3 Burning Bridges 3:17

A4 In Manchester 2:41

A5 High 1:53

A6 Sleep-Walking 7:30

B1 Joust & Jostle 2:12

B2 Swallow 4:17

B3 Split Your Ends 3:30

B4 Octopus 3:16

B5 Harpooned 8:23