Melvins ‎– Ozma (Vinyl)


Out of stock

SKU: 038161001611 Category:



(Gatefold LP Jacket)

Artist: Melvins

Format: LP

Release Date: 5/4/2018

LABEL: Boner Records

UPC: 038161001611




Alternative Rock, Doom Metal


A1 Vile

A2 Oven

A3 At A Crawl

A4 Let God Be Your Gardener

A5 Creepy Smell

A6 Kool Legged

A7 Green Honey

A8 Agonizer

B1 Raise A Paw

B2 Love Thing

B3 Ever Since My Accident

B4 Revulsion / We Reach

B5 Dead Dressed

B6 Cranky Messiah

B7 Claude

B8 My Small Percent Shows Most


Available again with updated artwork and a new gatefold sleeve!

Ozma was recorded soon after Melvins made the move from Washington to San Francisco, and was their first release to include the diminutive yet mighty Lorax (Lori Temple Black) on bass. In fact, the first sound one hears at the album's opening is Lori standing on her tiptoes to switch on her amp, thereby warning the listener of the onslaught to come. Distorted, down-tuned doom riffs start, stop, lurch sideways with no warning, and seem to end before they start. Buzz Osborne adds extraneous guitar static and vocal squeals. Drummer Dale Crover plays as if he's inside a barrel going over Niagara Falls; the long, slow fall allows the space between beats to grow and grow until he crashes into the water with the vessel blasting apart in an explosion of drum rolls. The classic Melvins heavy grind is set up and broken up by assorted odd sidetracks: "Revulsion / We Reach" flows forward slower and slower until it eventually melts into a gooey feedback drone. "Raise a Paw" is a superball paddled against one's head by a grinning village idiot. "Love Thing" enlists in the Kiss Army before getting dishonorably discharged.

Distro: Revolver