Jerry Garcia & John Kahn – Garcialive Volume 14: January 27th, 1986 The Ritz (Vinyl)


Out of stock

SKU: 880882450113 Category:


Garcialive Volume 14: January 27th, 1986 The Ritz

Artist: Jerry Garcia & John Kahn

Format: LP

Release Date: 11/5/2021

LABEL: Ato Records

UPC: 880882450113



GarciaLive Volume 14: January 27th, 1986 The Ritz spotlights an exultant Jerry Garcia & John Kahn acoustic duo performance in the heart of New York City. There was always palpable energy to Garcia's performances in the Big Apple and this Monday night was no exception. Captured at the mid-way point in their East Coast run, Garcia & Kahn delight a spellbound audience with a mix of Grateful Dead favorites, folk standard, and other staples from Garcia's songbook. The duo's performance is laid-back yet impassioned with Garcia's mastery as a storyteller on full display. As Billy Strings describes in the liner notes, Garcia "sings through the verses and picks through the melodies as if he is the man in the story. Delicate and deliberate." A sultry version of "Friend of the Devil" showcases Garcia's soulful singing and his deep musical connection with Kahn. And what Garcia performance would be complete without a couple nods to the Bard – "When I Paint My Masterpiece" and "Simple Twist of Fate." Other highlights include an upbeat "Bird Song" which Garcia & Kahn stretch out for the longest jam of the evening and a joyous "Ripple" we imagine made the whole room smile. This 2-LP set is pressed onto 140g vinyl in an open edition and includes a free MP3 download of the album. Vinyl LP pressing.


– Disc 1 –

1 Deep Elem Blues

2 Little Sadie

3 Friend of the Devil

– Disc 2 –

1 Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie

2 When I Paint My Masterpiece

3 Run for the Roses

– Disc 3 –

1 Dire Wolf

2 Simple Twist of Fate

3 Spike Driver Blues

– Disc 4 –

1 Bird Song

2 Ripple

3 Goodnight Irene