Tobias Jesso Jr. ‎– Goon


1 in stock

SKU: 744861609926 Category:



Goon is the debut album from Tobias Jesso Jr.. A songwriter first and foremost, the album is a collection of timeless songs, all written on piano in Tobias' living room in N. Vancouver and recorded with added production and instrumentation in a range of studios in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Nashville and Vancouver. Tobias worked with a number of producers to realize his specific vision for the arrangement and performance of his songs. Jr. White (Girls), Pat Carney (Black Keys), Ariel Rechtshaid (Vampire Weekend, Haim, Sky Ferreira) all came to the project in a similar way – drawn in by the strength of Jesso's songwriting, they strove to find the right way to honor the songs' honest emotional pulse, without overpowering their rawness. The resulting full band recordings that appear on Goon are a stunningly honest document of a modern songwriter influenced by the iconic piano-men whose stories in song defined past generations. Bearing comparison to these greats with an evocative, timeless quality, Tobias Jesso Jr. may be the classic songwriter for our time.


True Panther Sounds ‎– TRUE-099-2


CD, Album




12 Mar 2015




Indie Rock


1 Can’t Stop Thinking About You 3:54

2 How Could You Babe? 3:53

3 Without You 5:09

4 Can We Still Be Friends? 3:24

5 The Wait 2:15

6 Hollywood 6:09

7 For You 3:09

8 Crocodile Tears 2:22

9 Bad Words 4:28

10 Just A Dream 4:43

11 Leaving LA 4:24

12 Tell The Truth 2:47