Lloyd Price ‎– Mr. “Personality”


1 in stock

SKU: 8436542016940 Category:


Label: WaxTime ‎– 771974

Format: Vinyl, LP, Reissue, 180 Gram

Country: Spain

Released: 14 Nov 2014

Genre: Rock, Funk / Soul

Style: Rhythm & Blues, Rock & Roll


A1 Personality 2:35

A2 Mary Anne 2:33

A3 Time After Time 2:17

A4 Have You Ever Had The Blues 2:05

A5 Yakety-Yak–Bing Bang 2:00

A6 I Only Have Eyes For You 1:49

A7 Lady Luck

B1 I'm Gonna Get Married 2:18

B2 Dinner For One 2:18

B3 Is It Really Love? 1:40

B4 Poppa-Shun 2:33

B5 All Of Me 2:52

B6 I Want You To Know 2:15

B7 Such A Mess

Limited 180 gram vinyl LP repressing including two bonus tracks and digital download. This quintessential LP edition includes Lloyd Price's sensational second album, MR. PERSONALITY, originally released in 1959, and long unavailable on vinyl. It was recorded at the beginning of his career with ABC-Paramount the label that issued his biggest hits. Highlights include the smash single 'Personality', the standard 'Time After Time,' the million seller 'I'm Gonna Get Married' and the great 'Have You Ever Had the Blues.' Price sounds powerful on 'I Want You to Know,' as well as on the torchy 'Dinner for One,' and the rocking 'Is It Really Love?' All of these tunes – most of them written by Price in collaboration with Harold Logan – followed the model of 'Stagger Lee' except that these songs were now aimed at the teenage market. The album was taped in absolutely breathtaking stereo sound that greatly enhances the brass-heavy arrangements. In addition to the original masterpiece, this collector's item contains 2 bonus tracks: The passionate 'Lady Luck' and the effervescent R&B number 'Such a Mess.'