Doug Watkins – Watkins At Large (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)


1 in stock

SKU: 602448321794 Category:


  • Watkins At Large (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)
  • Artist: Doug Watkins 
  • Format: LP 
  • Release Date: 6/7/2024
  • LABEL: Blue Note Records
  • UPC: 602448321794
  • GENRE: Jazz


Vinyl LP pressing. Recorded in 1956 for producer Tom Wilson's short-lived Boston-based label Transition Records, Watkins At Large was the first of only two albums that the great bassist Doug Watkins would make as a leader. The Detroit native had moved to New York and begun to garner recognition for his contributions to the Art Blakey-Horace Silver co-led iteration of the Jazz Messengers as well as Bud Powell's trio when Wilson decided to give him the opportunity to front his own recording date. Along with a first-rate ensemble featuring trumpeter Donald Byrd, tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley, guitarist Kenny Burrell, pianist Duke Jordan, and drummer Art Taylor, Watkins swings through a stellar set of blues, ballads, and more including originals written by Jordan, Burrell, and Thad Jones.